vendredi 27 octobre 2017

Crosstown Rebels Presents Spirits (CRMLP035S)

A four track vinyl sampler of the new compilation series from Crosstown Rebels, allow us to introduce Spirits. Label Founder Damian Lazarus has compiled what he describes as "a fresh psychedelic journey into the mind", aiming to bring together a collection of new artists from both his imprints.

Opening up is Audiojack's "Reverie"; a heavy kick from the start is succeeded by spoken word on the subject of meditation sets the scene appropriately. Dubspeeka's "Lyssa" is next up with a sturdy bassline, eerie synths and a haunting melody reminiscent of yesteryear.

On the flip and Alice Rose seduces in "Another Way" produced by Raw District. Her voice, similar to that of Björk, perfectly encompasses the heavy bassline and hard-hitting percussion. Finally, "Be Mine" by SIOPIS featuring Ellbee Bad gets straight into the action with hard-hitting reverberated low notes, steadily building up through sentimental vocals and enticing synthesis.

1. Audiojack - Reverie
2. Dubspeeka - Lyssa
3. Raw District Feat. Alice Rose - Another Way
4. SIOPIS Feat. Ellbee Bad - Be Mine

Released: 24/11/2017
Cat#: CRMLP35S
Distribution: Above Board

jeudi 19 octobre 2017

Crosstown Rebels Presents Spirits

Damian Lazarus' label Crosstown Rebels is starting a new annual compilation series called Spirits.

Lazarus describes the new endeavor as "a fresh psychedelic journey into the mind". its first entry, which lands in late November, is made up of 11 tracks from the likes of Dubspeeka, SIOPIS, Robbie Akbal, Magit Cacoon and Pale Blue.

Lazarus & company will celebrate the start of Spirits next month with launch parties in Berlin, Warsaw & London.

1. Dubspeeka - Lyssa
2. Audiojack - Reverie
3. Rowee - Amaranto (Feat. KnowKontrol)
4. SIOPIS - Be Mine (Feat. Ellbee Bad)
5. Magit Cacoon - Nonsense
6. Jonathan Kaspar - Zarun
7. Raw District - Another Way (Feat. Alice Rose)
8. Robbie Akbal - Tavarua
9. Nico Stojan & David Mayey - Killing Your Lover (Feat. Jan Blomqvist)
10. Dance Spirit - Voices (Feat. Fab Morvan)
11. Pale Blue - Journey Into The Light

Released: 24/11/2017
Cat#: (CRMCD035)
Distribution: Above Board

mercredi 18 octobre 2017

Denney - Stranger Things (CRM190)

Releasing on Crosstown Rebels, Denney & D Ramirez invite the listener into an electronic dream. Aptly titled "Stranger Things", the old friends deliver two original tracks with Dubspeeka supplying the remix. Debuted by label founder Damian Lazarus at Day Zero, immerse yourself in an otherworldly fantasy.

"Stranger Things" open the EP, immediately setting the scene for what is to come. The duo has created an enticing world, thrusting them into the forefront of electronic music. Heavy in synths and cosmic sounds, Bristol based producer, Dubspeeka demonstrates complete understanding of the original, whilst catapulting the track into a different sphere. The ethereal female vocal takes center stage in "Afraid", concluding the EP and marking the end of a captivating journey.

Hailing from the north of England, Denney kickstarted his career with a residency at the historic Back To Basics night. Now a global figure in the dance scene, he regurlarly plays at the biggest venues, with releases on Jackathoin Jams, 2020Vision, VIVa, Hot Creations among others. With a career spanning over twenty years, D. Ramirez is a top of his game. The Northern DJ and producer has been nominated for an Ivor Novello, played in every continent, and five of his releases making the Top 20.

1. Stranger Things
2. Stranger Things (Dubspeeka Remix)
3. Afraid

Released: 03/11/2017
Cat#: CRM190
Distribution: Above Board