jeudi 31 mai 2012

Dachshund & Quenum - The Mammoth EP (RBL009)

For the next release, Crosstown Rebels offshoot RebelLion have snapped up the combined talent of Dachshund & Quenum with their tribal two-tracker, ‘The Mammoth EP’.
As colossal as it’s name would suggest title track ‘The Mammoth’ is a guaranteed summer hit, filled with bouncing Bongo percussions, subtle samba shakes and deep piano keys; epic waves of warping synths soon creep in to electrify the senses and engulf the mind! On the flip ‘Lipstick’ is awash with warm melodic keys as deep pads grumble across the bottom layers and a crisp raw kick drives the pace. A dramatic rising hiss provides a powerful build, dropping with seductive vocal snippets and real dancefloor drive.
Switzerlands finest Philippe Quenum and Dachshund are friends, studio partners and co-founders of Clapper records. Long-time player Quenum holds an extensive record to say the least, having founded Access 58 in London with Paulo Nascimento and Cadenza with Luciano, together with Luciano he composed the first release on Cadenza, ‘Orange Mistake’ - one of the most successful techno tracks of the decade. In all, Quenum has released over 60 records on various labels including Crosstown Rebels, Thema, Cadenza, Systematic, Soma, Trapez and Contexterrior. Dachshund’s musical roots originate in Dub, which can clearly be seen in some of productions today. Broadening his musical range, he began to explore the realms of electronic music and has released on labels such as Contexterrior and Num Records with remixes for labels such as Trapez, Systematic and Vitalik Recordings.

  • Label: RebelLION
  • Cat no: RBL009
  • Web:
  • Distribution: Above Board
  • Released: Mon Jun 25th, 2012


    jeudi 24 mai 2012

    Amirali - Just An Illusion (CRM097)

    Having just released Amirali’s slick, diverse and immaculately produced debut album ‘In Time’, Crosstown Rebels presents the single ‘Just An Illusion’ featuring a trio of distinct remixes from Real Tone boss Franck Roger, 90s house master MK and the genre flipping Appleblim.
    Amirali has certainly made a rapid ascent in electronic music over the past year and stellar debut ‘In Time’ has marked out the Iranian/Canadian producer as a true musician at heart. Playing every instrument and implementing his own evocative voice, Amirali shapes his songs in mysterious patterns, leaving his listeners hypnotised. Clash Magazine described ‘In Time’ as “an incredible revision of house music”, with “basslines melodic enough to have Herr Kruder snogging Mr Dorfmeister’s face off”. Chiefly supported and championed by Damian Lazarus and therefore getting his music heard by thousands of ravers around the globe at Get Lost and Rebel Rave events, the London-based Architecture student is now one of the most buzzing underground artists on the scene.
    Released here as an extended version, ‘Just An Illusion’ is one of the more pulsing, housey cuts from the album, not forsaking Amirali’s texturally deep and emotive undertones, this is set to be a favourite for the DJs and a guaranteed dancefloor destroyer. French producer Franck Roger alleviates the eeriness and delivers a more rolling drum-heavy remix with bouncing bassline and alternative melody with soaring pads and high-pitched chimes. Marc Kinchen aka MK next offers up a slice of moody sexy house, at first illuminating Amirali’s melancholic vocal and then dropping a dubby bassline and 90s snare kick hat groove. Lastly, Appleblim gives ‘Just An Illusion’ an experimental edge with ice cool cosmic bleeps and futuristic stripped back feel, steeped in murky atmosphere.

  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRM097
  • Web:
  • Distribution: Above Board Distribution
  • Released: Mon Jul 2nd, 2012


    mardi 15 mai 2012

    Rebelrave in Barcelona - ANDALE !!


    We are very excited to announce our party to kick off Sonar week 2012. Everybody's favourite session, Rebel Rave, will take place at Wild Villa from midday to 10pm on Thursday, 14th of June.

    The Rebels will be out in full force across two areas, one in, one out...and much fun and debauchery is promised as the number one label introduces it's summer selection.

    Advance Tickets are limited and will be on sale on 2pm (gmt) on Tuesday, 15th May.

    First Release Tickets = €20
    Second Release Tickets = €25

    Do not delay to avoid disappointment. We can't wait to see you in Barcelona!!!

    jeudi 10 mai 2012

    Walker & Royce - You're Not Welcome (CRM096)

    Currently bubbling under the surface of Brookyln’s house scene, Walker & Royce are about to break through with their addictive debut single ‘You’re Not Welcome’ on the mighty Crosstown Rebels imprint.
    Geared directly at the floor, ‘You’re Not Welcome’ is a bona fide bomb representing the nu breed of talent coming out of NY. Mood-driven and fizzing with hot synths, a deeply infectious vocal and hooky bassine, it’s a summer anthem with a menacing edge, likely to spread like wild fire.
    The second original track ‘Stare If You Want To’ is another essential party cut. Kicking off with a powerful rhythm and shards of disco, the track is soon enveloped by the rolling, drum-led groove as the old school U.S vocal line is fused with 80s synths and funky guitar licks.
    On the B-side remix, Francesca Lombardo takes ‘You’re Not Welcome’ on a deeper trip instilling restraint and delicate rhythms with smokey bass whilst retaining the solid groove of the original. A new signing to Crosstown Rebels, the Hackney based Italian singer and musician has a debut EP coming to CR in July and an album forthcoming next year.
    Part of the Nervous Records NY crew Walker & Royce aka Sam Walker and Gavin Royce having been packing a serious punch with an array of scorching remixes for artists such as 33hz, Publicist, Saarid, and SPF 5000, as well as a string of club-ready originals. Like a scene out of Mad Men, Sam and Gavin realised their potential music chemistry while sipping brandy in the offices of Nervous Records. Next thing they knew, they were in the studio together banging out tracks that you can now hear thumping through speakers all over the world. 2012 is set to be a breakthrough year for Sam and Gavin with this massive release and more material ready to drop on OFF Recordings and Pets Recordings.

  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRM096
  • Web:
  • Distribution: Above Board Distribution
  • Released: Mon Jun 11th, 2012