jeudi 29 janvier 2015

Squire Feat. Forrest - City Cemetery / Midnight Gardens (RBL023)

Squire debuts on Crosstown Rebels off-shoot Rebellion with "City Cemetery / Midnight Gardens" featuring Forrest.

"Without a doubt, Damian Lazarus has become my mentor and greatly motivates me to work. This was an unexpected release and both tracks came from one visit to the studio. I feel very proud of this Forrest collaboration and we are already planning a new collab together. The best is yet to come." Squire on City Cemetery / Midnight Gardens

First up "City Cemetery" takes a slow pace and plays with subtle flavors resulting in a stripped back chic record, complete with a dub version on the flip. While "Midnight Gardens" is a spooky club weapon laying delicate vocal whispers over epic and futuristic soundscapes.

Squire is a mysterious new artist born in Barcelona and now living in London. He can regularly be heard playing deep and experimental music on Ibiza Global radio and will make his debut DJ performance for Crosstown at the 10th anniversary of Get Lost Miami on Saturday March 28. His passion for electronic music was born at an early age in his homeland of Spain and by age 22, Jaime AKA Squire was performing in clubs such as Space and Amnesia Ibiza and making promising productions stirring the music markets in the subsequent years on Get Physical, MetroDance, Suruba & Nurvous.

Label: Rebellion
Cat no: RBL023
Distribution: Above Board
Released: Mon Feb 23rd, 2015


jeudi 22 janvier 2015

Rebel Rave 4 - Matthew Styles Rebel Rave Mix (CRMCD028)

Rebel Rave 4 is a scrupulous odyssey across three discs swarming with rare remixes and special cuts from the long-standing label Crosstown Rebels. Highlighting material from former Bloc Party performer turned solo star Kele Okereke, standoffs between T.E.E.D. & Eats Everything and Jamie Jones & Luca C and interpretations from dance music great Cassius, Dixon, Adam Beyer, Tale Of Us, Maceo Plex, Herbert & more, these are future classics to shift your senses.

Those that are familiar with Berlin-based Matthew Styles know that he stands for timeless curation and is armed with a meticulous musical style. The DJ's favourite DJ steps up to curate the third disc of Crosstown Rebels' Rebel Rave series. As former label manager, Matthew Styles shaped and sculpted the first five years of the label's existence, giving him an unrivaled insight into its foundations. His selection and integration attests to this with well-concealed gems from the likes of Seth Troxler's The Royal We, Radio Slave (Canvas), Josh Wink, Mr G, Matthew Jonson, Freaks and Rob Mello.

"Putting together the tracklist for this mix, and listening to songs that spanned 12 years, I'm still surprised by many of the records we worked at those years ago and how well many of those classics have stood the test of time. There is so much variety and it's hard to pigeonhole, but I hope to have put some of my perspective on Crosstown Rebels". Matthew Styles on Rebel Rave 4

Englishman Matthew Styles is a special one. Firmly schooled in the history of dance music as a DJ, his father was a disc jockey by trade and long time member of DJ culture pioneers DMC, instilling in him the age-old tradition of moving a crowd with music. From a recording career on esteemed imprints such as Running Back and Classic Records and regular appearances at clubs such as Fabric, Watergate, T Bar, Harry Klein and the aforementioned Panorama Bar, Matthew's priority has been intrinsically placed with servicing the needs of a dance floor.

Crosstown Rebels started their mission in 2003 powered by a modern electronic canon spearheaded by Damian Lazarus. The label has inspired countless unforgettable dance floor moments and nurtured many universally adored music makers. Soon to be entering its twelfth year at the forefront of future-moving dance music, Crosstown Rebels remains THE electronic pioneering force of the past decade.

Label: Crosstown Rebels
Cat#: CRMCD028
Released: Mon Apr 6th, 2015

01 Francesca Lombardo - What To Do (Matrixxman Remix)
02 Amirali - Melancholia (Deetron Unreleased Club Mix)
03 Kele Okereke - Heartbreaker (Recondite Amati Mix)
04 Subb-an featuring S.Y.F. - Say No More
05 Ida Engberg - Devil Dance (Adam Beyer Remix)
06 Him_Self_Her featuring Kieran Fowkes - Love Me Like I Used To (Francesca Lombardo Remix)
07 Mathew Jonson - Body in Motion (Akufen Remix)
08 Jamie Jones & Luca C - Tonight In Tokyo (Cassius Remix)
09 Azimute - Always
10 Russ Yallop featuring Aimee Sophia - The Journey
11 Pezzner & Amina - Exit

01 jozif featuring Little Bear - The 508
02 Him_Self_Her featuring Kieran Fowkes - Gone Too Long
03 Ali Love featuring Kali - Emperor (Maceo Plex Last Disco Remix)
04 Psychemagik - Black Noir Schwarz (Mineo Remix)
05 Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs & Eats Everything - Lion, The Lion (Gerd´s Deep Dub)
06 Fur Coat - U Turn
07 Kele Okerkeke - Candy Flip
08 Luca Cazal & Mark Jenkyns - Bullfrog
09 Mathew Jonson - Kissing Your Eyes (Tale Of Us Remix)
10 Damian Lazarus  & The Ancient Moons - Lover Eyes (Dixon Re-Edit)
11 Subb-an featuring The Million Plan - Vapour Trails (Matthew Herbert Remix)

CD3 Matthew Styles Rebel Rave Mix
01 Latex - The Porcupine
02 Dyed Soundorom featuring Aaron Carl - Naked
03 Jamie Jones featuring Ost & Kjex - Summertime (No Ears Mix)
04 Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs & Eats Everything - Lion, The Lion (Gerd Sub Tech Mix)
05 Presslaboys - Electric Generation (No Ears Dub)
06 Canvas - The Cat
07 Peace Division featuring Pleasant Gehman - Voodoo (It’s In The Wall)
08 The Royal We - Party Guilt (Matthew Styles Remix)
09 Freaks - UMAKENOSENSE (Radio Slave MFF Mix)
10 Ida Engberg - Devil Dance (Mr. G NY Dub)
11 Raw District featuring Ellipsis - Ragged Star (Josh Wink Rethink 1)
12 Ali Love - Another (Tuff City Kids Remix)
13 Glimmer Twins v’s Ray Mang – UFO Is Coming
14 Dyed Soundorom featuring Aaron Carl - Naked (Stripped Mix)
15 Matthew Jonson - In The Stars

Skream - Still Lemonade (CRM138)

A man of many talents Skream makes a welcomed debut on the mighty Crosstown Rebels ahead of his album on the imprint later this year. The epic 'Still Lemonade' includes a remix from the mysterious Redshape.

"Still Lemonade was the first track I finished in a long time that felt completely happy with and ready to play out. I didn't tell anyone it was by me when I first started playing it and the reaction was explosive. It gets one of the biggest reaction in my sets and is a perfect example of the direction I'm taking with my productions." Skream.

A masterpiece for the peak time dancefloor, "Still Lemonade" sees melodic and emotive synthlines flow over rolling percs with a powerful breakdown and build destined to make the crowd erupt. Over on the flip Redshape adds a grumble in the bassline, playing with the track for an intricate and subtle build but keeping in line with the original it soon progresses into a high intensity dancefloor bomb.

Londoner Oliver Jones AKA Skream is off to a flying start in 2015, working on his Crosstown LP, curating his own nights at XOYO for three months on a weekly basis and continuing his popular radio 1 show where he covers everything from disco to techno. Starting out as one of dubstep's first most prominent and prolific producers, he then went on to achieve commercial success and critical acclaim with Magnetic Man alongside Artwork and Benga reaching no.5 in the UK Album Chart and reaching no.10 in the UK Singles Chart.

Living in Berlin, Redshape is a man of mysterious identity wearing a red mask for all of his shows. His impressive live act has seen him play at the likes of DC10 and Panorama Bar and releases can be found on Delsin, Music Man and Styrax Leaves.

Label: Crosstown Rebels
Cat #: CRM138
Distribution: !K7 / Above Board
Released: Mon Feb 23rd, 2015

- Still Lemonade
- Still Lemonade (Redshape Remix)