mardi 11 juillet 2017

Josif - Reclaim The Light (RBL047)

Next up on Rebellion is josif with his Reclaim The Light EP, delivering four original dancefloor cuts. Since his debut release back in 2008, the British producer has gained support from the industry's most respected tastemakers with his impeccable arrangements.

"This EP is one I'm probably most proud of because it encapsulates all these different sides of me and how I write my music. 'Reclaim The Light' is a love song I wrote whilst trying to save a relationship; 'Billions' I wrote after being in the jungle listening to Luciano and Dixon. 'I Know You (Love Me)' is a record I've been trying to write for about 10 years - delicate, classy, subtle. 'Picaro' I wrote in about twenty five minutes on my father's kitchen table after watching a Jeff Porcaro documentary" josif.

The opening track, 'Reclaim The Light', is a vocal-led, house track complete with seamless percussion and melody. 'Billions No Trumpets' follows suit, an entirely new ethnic feel, with chanting vocals and wooden percussion. Complete with chimes and delicate piano, 'I Know You (Love Me)' enchants throughout before dropping into a solid kick snare. Finally, 80's-esque synths and a raucous drumbeat conclude the EP in 'Picaro'.

Following a whirlwind of standout releases with the likes of Wolf+Lamb, Mobilee Records and Ministry Of Sound in 2010, josif has cemented himself as a unique musical voice in the world of electronic music. His impressive and versatile mixing skills have taken him across the globe and led to his release kicking off the infamous Balance series in 2013 The London-based artist is currently putting the final touches to his album and accompanying live show.

1. Reclaim The Light
2. Billions No Trumpet
3. I Know You (Love Me)
4. Picaro

Released: 18/08/2017
Cat#: RBL047
Distribution: Above Board