dimanche 15 décembre 2013

Pezzner & Amina - Exit (CRM120)

Up next on the decade strong Crosstown Rebels is class live act Pezzner who joins forces on ‘Exit’ with vocalist and co-producer Amina. ‘Exit’ is a charged and emotional journey with a edge of darkness, where the power of raw electronics meets the mystical and sultry tones of Amina’s incredible Bjork-esque voice. ‘Pipes’ sees Pezzner go it alone with a mixture of organic sounds and shakers wrapped up in one hypnotic groove as mellow dubby textures flow into fluid, abstract melodies. Continuing Crosstown’s tradition for head-turning remixers, up steps Hotflush boss and dubstep pioneer turned master of versatility,  Scuba. Delivering his take on ‘Exit’ with elastic bass and an expanding soundbed of jarring chords and alternating synth lines, the result is a suspense filled and soaring sonic ride.

Seattle’s Dave Pezzner wants to tell stories and feed the brain with his dancefloor focused productions and this mantra is finely displayed here as well as on previous album works, ‘The Tracks Are Alive’ (Freerange Records, 2010) and ‘Last Night In Utopia’ (Systematic Recordings, 2013) and EPs for Crosstown Rebels off-shoot Rebellion, Dirtybird, Ovum and Anjunadeep. Highly regarded across the board as a producer and live act, his work has been described as “lush and tense with a transcendental twist” and his live shows and DJ sets have moved the dance floors of some of the most renowned venues including Space Ibiza, Rex Club in Paris, Womb Tokyo, Fabric London, Cielo New York, and Chicago’s famed Smartbar.

Amina is an Italian Egyptian heir to a mystical culture she grew up through the memories left by her mother, a musician and composer, and the exploration of multiple instruments and later an obsession with poetry. Fate led her to meet Dave Pezzner in 2011 and this gave rise to a passion project that fused Amina’s poems with a collaborative mix of eclectic and harmonic sounds that brought Amina’s lyrics and voice alive within Pezzer’s three-dimensional sonic imagery, full of tension and transmission…

Scuba needs little or no introduction. As the head of Hotflush Recordings, one of the most illustrious and genre-bending labels of our times and with a history steeped in the UK dubstep scene, Paul Rose aka Scuba and SCB has been residing in Berlin since 2008 and is now a future-facing figurehead in electronic music with a sonic style reaching far beyond his dubstep roots.

  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRM120
  • Web: www.crosstownrebels.com
  • Distribution: !K7 / Above Board
  • Released: Mon Feb 3rd, 2014


mercredi 11 décembre 2013

Various - 10 Years Of Crosstown Rebels (CRMCD025)

Crosstown Rebels commemorate 10 years of historical releases with a three CD collection spanning over thirty of their best records from the vaults. Named label of the year 2013 in the Ibiza DJ Awards and Resident Advisor’s No 1 label in 2011, the Rebels also encompass innovative global events, a festival series and a worldwide artist network. Arguably the most established and renowned house and techno label of our time, this collection is laced with nostalgia and documents its brightest and boldest moments.
‘10 Years’ revisits some classic and early releases from the scene’s biggest stars including Maceo Plex, Seth Troxler, Jamie Jones, Tiga, Soul Clap and Art Department alongside more obscure yet still unforgettable material from Andre Kraml, Pier Bucci, Minilogue and Deniz Kurtel. These are the sounds that made Crosstown Rebels the label of the past decade and document some historical moments that have shaped the current musical landscape.

Crosstown Rebels sits at the epicentre of a global underground movement. Formed by Damian Lazarus in 2003, after successful stints as A&R at City Rockers signing the likes of Felix Da Housecat and Tiga and as former music editor for style bible Dazed & Confused, Lazarus created Crosstown Rebels as a platform to not only deliver quality and timeless music but also to launch the careers of many up and coming artists who have gone on to become the most successful in their field.

10 Years’ maps the label’s and the artists’ collective journey. Over a decade of dancefloor moments are charted, from some of the earliest output from everyone’s favourite techno maverick Seth Troxler, ´Love Never Sleeps´, to the ‘Summertime’ anthem - the track that shot Jamie Jones into the spotlight, up to the epic ‘Without You’ from the unstoppable duo Art Department. The timeless Mathew Jonson remix of Hiem’s ‘She’s The One’ is featured alongside the debut EP release from Boston duo Soul Clap and early electroclash anthem from Kiki & Silversurfer feat. Captain Comatose, ‘Shake Off’. A new generation of artists such as Francesca Lombardo, Ali Love and Fur Coat point to the future and keep the story moving forward for the label’s output.

 Crosstown Rebels continues to birth many creative offshoots including a film series (Rebel Rave), global events (Get Lost), an apocalyptic festival (Day Zero) and various sublabels such as Rebellion, RebelOne and Crosstown Digital Rebels that house alternative musical whims and threads. Each pioneering outlet continues to take radical new approaches and this reminiscent collection is the first time their musical identity can be digested as a whole. Here’s to the next decade of forward thinking music.

  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRMCD035
  • Web: www.crosstownrebels.com
  • Distribution: Above Board
  • Released: Sat Feb 1st, 2014

Tracklisting CD1
01 Amirali - Beautiful World
02 Fur Coat feat. Cari Golden - You And I
03 Ali Love feat. Kali – Emperor
04 Kiki & Silversurfer feat. Captain Comatose – Shake Off
05 André Kraml feat. Schad Privat - Safari
06 Maceo Plex – Can’t Leave You
07 Jamie Jones feat. Ost & Kjex - Summertime
08 Pier Bucci – Hay Consuelo (Samin Remix)
09 Tiga – Pleasure From The Bass (Subb-an Remix)
10 Deniz Kurtel feat. Jada – The L Word
11 N/A Feat Rosina – Fables & Fairytales (Deniz Kurtel Remix)
12 Art Department – Without You

01 Seth Troxler – Love Never Sleeps
02 Dyed Soundorom feat. Aaron Carl - Naked
03 Guti & Dubshape – Every Cow Has A Bird
04 Russ Yallop – Rock Me
05 Jamie Jones – You!
06 The Royal We - Party Guilt
07 Art Department feat. Soul Clap & Osunlade - We Call Love
08 Maceo Plex - Frisky
09 Jamie Jones – Moan & Groan
10 Deniz Kurtel featuring Guests Of Nature – Yeah
11 Soul Clap – Break 4 Life

01 Maceo Plex – Vibe Your Love
02 Francesca Lombardo - Sofiel
03 Chic Miniature - Escandalo
04 Mathew Jonson – Dayz
05 Sis – Faces
06 Mlle Caro & Franck Garcia – Far Away (Jennifer Cardini & Shonky Remix)
07 Minilogue - Hitchhikers Choice
08 Inxec vs. Droog – Westbound
09 Jennifer Cardini & Shonky – Tuesday Paranoia
10 Hiem - She’s The One (Mathew Jonson Circles In Time Remix)