vendredi 15 août 2014

Get Lost VII Mixed By Craig Richards (CRMCD027)

There aren’t many DJs you would choose to Get Lost with... However Craig Richards is certainly one. Following on from timeless Get Lost episodes from Acid Pauli and Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Craig Richards is renowned for his role as resident and musical director at London’s fabric over the last 15 years. This is a rare insight into the aficionado and musical maverick’s all time favourite records from his 40 year old collection. The result is an extraordinary adventure named ‘Get Lost VII’ and a contender for mix of the year.
This is Craig’s eighth DJ Mix album, but this is his most personal to date, spanning the sonic landscape from the late 1980’s to the present day. The two discs pack as much as you would expect and more, with forward­thinking choices that are instantly gratifying but largely unrecognisable. Disc one is one for the serious music lovers and puts Mr Richard’s wealth of experience and vast influences into the spotlight, whilst disc two takes a darker ride through the late night abyss. The collection heeds hard to find rare gems such as Backroom Productions, Black Rascals, 2House and Kenny Larkin, as well as modern vinyl only treats by Mike Ozone, Ruf Dug, STL and Velvet Season & The Hearts of Gold. It also features tracks from Craig’s own ground­breaking label: The Nothing Special, with tracks from Trevino, Calibre, dBridge, Keith Tenniswood, Billy Nasty and Craig himself.

An avid collector of vinyl, Craig Richards spent his early years saving to buy records through takings from his own barbershop within a vintage clothing store before moving to New York and LA during the birth of house music. In 1987 he landed a place at St. Martins School of Art in London, just as acid house fever descended on the Capital. These early experiences fashioned a deep passion and broad knowledge of music that led him, a somewhat private and reflective character, to become a true cult figure for a generational movement.
His fifteen year residency at London’s fabric is an unparalleled success and his role as musical director has enabled him to steer the path of the capital’s musical trajectory over the past decade. A true creative, his other projects include Tyrant, alongside Lee Burridge that held infamous residencies at The End in London and The Bomb in Nottingham, as well as an avid interest in painting, poetry and animation that leaks into other projects including the Nothing Special, a curated series of events and record label. His latest record label is run in conjunction with close friend Seth Troxler.
Craig undertook the first episode of the fabric mixes (voted no 12 best compilations of the decade by Resident Advisor) and this is only the eighth studio mix he has let see the light of day. His sharp vision and acute attention to detail means any output is diligently exercised and becomes a timeless project that is worshipped for years to come.

Tracklist :
CD 1 :
01. JTC – Through The Looking Glass
02. Black Rascals – Blaze Theme Track
03. Trans Mania -­ Boing, Boom, Jack (Alexander Robotnick Remix)
04. Untitled – Untitled (Thorny Hill Edit)
05. Raiders Of The Lost ARP ­- On And On (Patrice Scott Sistrum Remix)
06. Zsou Vs Velvet Season & The Hearts Of Gold – Fantasy Princess
07. Calibre – Getter Go
08. 2 House ­- Go Techno (Tony Humphries Dub Mix)
09. Trevino – Revolve
10. Steve Bug – Big Cheese From Wisconsin
11. The Model -­ Dungeon Man
12. Lerosa – Blinkerskate (Her Mix)
13. Backroom Productions -­ Definition Of A Track
14. dBRm – Darnley
15. Mark A Brook – Sound Barrier
16. Kenny Larkin ­- Groove
17. Ruf Dug – 1 4 Ron
18. Michael Ozone – Perfect Systems (Steve Summers Remix)
19. This Side Up ­- Love Starts With An L
CD 2 :
01. Spesimen ­- Calibus
02. Pametex ­- Reflectie
03. ERP ­- Lodestone (Ideograma Bsas Mix)
04. Klorex 55 -­ Mystisk
05. Amfibian ­- Pa Relax (Jark & Prongo Remix)
06. Craig Richards – Sleeping Rough
07. DMX Krew – Undesirable Element
08. Neil Landstrumm – Keep Up
09. Arpanet – Wireframe Images
10. STL – Something Is Raw
11. Unknown – Untitled (Jonny Rock Edit)
12. The Parallax Corporation -­ Anti Social Tendencies
13. Redshape – Finizh
14. Joey Anderson ­- Musical Tentacles
15. Samuel L. Session – Givin You Part 3
16. Brooks Mosher – Encroachment
17. Radio Nasty – Radio 1
18. Bangkok Impact – Junge Dame Mit Freundliche Telefonstimme
  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRMCD027
  • Web:
  • Distribution: !K7 / Above Board
  • Released: Mon Sep 22nd, 2014

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire