mercredi 20 novembre 2013

Russ Yallop - The Journey (Remixed) (CRM113R)

Back in July, Russ Yallop released the artfully dark and dirty, trippy ‘The Journey’ on Crosstown Rebels, featuring the high and haunting vocals of Aimee Sophia. Now getting the remix treatment by Melokolektiv, the rising French production duo craft a more driving techy groove that keeps the sinister atmosphere of the original but weaves in alternative textures with streaks of acid and melodic bleeps. On the B-side Russ Yallop revisits his original tracks and offers up a full-bodied dub of ‘The Journey’ as well as a wonky tech dub version of the ‘How I Feel feat. Belle’.

Russ Yallop made a come back to production this year with this killer release on Crosstown Rebels and since spent the summer living and playing out in his second home of Ibiza - including a residency at Paradise DC10. Hailing from the North of England, Russ was an integral part of the recent wave of nu-house and continues to grow as an original artist with plenty coming up for 2014. Previous releases have come on Nurvous, Losing Suki and Rebels offshoot Rebellion.

Winning the Beatport Remix contest to rework and release ‘The Journey’ on Crosstown Rebels, Melokolektiv are two French electronic music lovers who have been DJing together for the past 4 years and have lately been taking their inspiration from artists such as Damian Lazarus and Laurent Garnier into the studio. Their productions are aimed squarely at the dancefloor, combining deeper atmospheric elements with a strong notion of groove.

Melokolektiv have released music on labels such as Betoko’s imprint Chilli Mint Music, Loulou Players, Kolombo’s label LouLou Records or Tenampa Records. After this remix for Crosstown Rebels, the duo will be appearing on Claude Monnet´s record label SSOH with a track made in collaboration with Adn. The next will feature on the next compilation of Acumen for Time Has Changed Recordings.

  • Label: Crosstown Rebels
  • Cat no: CRM113R
  • Web:
  • Distribution: Above Board
  • Released: Mon Dec 16th, 2013


A - The Journey (Melokolektiv Remix)
B1 - The Journey (Russ Yallop Dub)
B2 - How I Feel (Russ Yallop Dub)


Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire